Island Shrimp Yumminess!

Lately we have been having AMAZING weather in San Diego. In the middle of the day, you couldn’t tell the difference between January and August right now, while there are places across the country freezing.

Sorry everyone.  You’ll be able to gloat when we are all out here parched, since if we don’t get any rain soon, we are probably outta luck for the year.  Not good.

In the meantime though, all this summer weather in January has us feeling like we are in the tropics and I got the taste for some island yumminess.

The Husband and I LOVE Hawaiian food. We even had it at our wedding, (and by the way would recommend Nelson at Da Kines  for anyone looking for some AWESOME and affordable catering by an awesome guy).  Our house has lots of Hawaiian décor, we day dream of Lahaina and we watch Hawaii Life whenever we get a chance. We dream of moving to Hawaii after med school, buying a cool house with a bunch of garden space, chickens, horses, surfing, and hog hunting whenever I get the fancy. A girl can dream, right?

So tonight, when I went to go make dinner, I had an idea in my head. A yummy idea. We aren’t ready to move to Hawaii, yet,  but I could bring the islands to San Diego (rough life, I know) and use the ingredients that are standard in my pantry that I hope will someday be growing in my backyard.

What I came up with was what I have lovingly decided to call Island Shrimp.

I will warn you, it does have rum in it. A small amount that is cooked at high heat and largely cooked out. I bought a bottle of rum several months ago to make the bread pudding we ate at Ohana at Disney World (again more Hawaiian, even in Florida). If that makes you uncomfortable, I totally understand and I have included a link to a chart of alcohol subs for cooking. The alcohol is little and cooked at a decently high heat . It also makes me think of an old family story of my great-uncles and aunts getting together and one of them asking if Uncle Roy would like another high-ball. Uncle Roy said no, I think I will just have another piece of Pearl’s rum cake instead.

This is not that kind of recipe. 

So here it is…

Island Shrimp.

3 VERY ripe bananas. The mushy kind you don’t really want to just peel and eat anymore.

1 lb shrimp

A little less than 1/3 cup of rum (If you don’t feel comfortable using the rum, here is a chart that offers substitutes, though I can’t vouch for it’s effect on the taste or consistency in recipe)

½ cup of shredded coconut

1 TB of Ginger

A good squeeze of honey 

A bit of brown sugar (I basically just dipped my fingers in, pinched with all 5 finger tips and there you go).

Garlic Powder

Olive oil

Kosher salt

Pepper

 

  1. Sauté the shrimp in some olive oil and sprinkle with kosher salt till pink. Set aside in a bowl and use the same pan to make the sauce.
  2. Take your 3 bananas and peel them and then put in the pan and sear starting to mash them up. I use my tongs to do this and it works great and mashes easier as it cooks.
  3. Add in rum or substitute after searing the bananas. Have it on a Med-High heat. Proceed to mash while adding in coconut, ginger, honey, brown sugar and garlic powder (to taste).
  4. Continue to cook and mash, keeping things moving around fairly steadily so it doesn’t burn. You are going to cook this sauce for about 10 minutes on the med-high heat.  Then turn the heat off, while leaving it on same burner, cover, and let sit for 5 or so minutes to let it set up. You want to make sure that alcohol burns off as much as possible cause we are just looking for taste. Unless you’re not. Then hey, I won’t judge. Just stay home after you cook, deal?
  5. I served it on a bed of jasmine rice that I cooked with some coconut and ginger to really pull all the flavors together.
  6. Put rice, then sauce, then shrimp, then top with some chopped macadamia nuts and a little pepper.
  7. Try to share.

Image

 

I don’t want to brag, but this one is out. of. the. park.

We accompanied it with a glass of POG (passion fruit, orange and guava juice) and an episode of Hawaii Five-O.

Book me, Danno. This is too good to be legal. 

Leave a Reply

