Pumpkin Love

 

If I had to pick one thing that I love about Fall that I loved the most it would be, without a doubt… pumpkin.

I love pumpkin. I think it is the most under appreciated fruit… er vegetable… er gourd… whatever it is, it is awesome. Did you know it is a super food? That’s right. Tons of good stuff and super low fat. All anyone thinks about with it is the classic pumpkin pie, but no one ever thinks about the other things you can put it in. Pumpkin chilli, pumpkin cookies, pumpkin ravioli… I am starting to sound like Forest Gump’s pumpkin obsessed cousin. Oh, pumpkin shrimp!

I digress…

Tomorrow I am going to a shower for the cutest elf baby ever, Benjamin, who goes to our church. It’s okay that I call him elf baby, his mom agrees. They asked those coming to bring something, and listed muffins… challenge accepted!

So… here is my recipe for delicious pumpkin pecan muffins. Enjoy!

3 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 heaping cups canned solid-pack pumpkin
2/3 cup vegetable oil
4 large eggs
1/2 tsp all spice

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp nutmeg

2 1/2 cups  sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
4 tsp cinnamon

Topping: Brown Sugar and chopped pecans

 

Preheat oven to 350

Mix all ingredients together, except for toppings. I use a Kitchen Aid, one that my husband says when I saw it listed as purchased on our registry, I acted as happy as when he proposed. He may not have been terribly far off.

Fill muffin cups about 3/4  full.

Sprinkle brown sugar and pecans on top of batter filled cups to your hearts desire. I kept mine a little more sparingly. I think its better if it is a little bit of a surprise instead of a smack in the face.

Stick ’em in the over for about 25 minutes, or until done. Duh. Though the batter is delish, and should be eaten like a lolly pop off the mixer paddle… yum.

Open the oven and smile. I did. Take them out and smile again. Then let them cool in the pan for about 10 minutes, then pull them out and put them on a cooling rack till they cool.

Then get some milk.

Leave a Reply

